John Gorka – The Gypsy Life


John Gorka writes, plays and performs his own unique style of “new folk” music. His songs are clever, emotional, thoughtful, and funny. This is the Collectors Edition and contains 2 discs full of music, videos, and lots of bonus materials.

SKU: AIX 83053 Categories: , , Tag:

John Gorka is one of my favorite artists. His songs are memorable, meaningful and introspective. And his rich, natural baritone is completely captivating. His career spans over 30 years since his early days playing in college through his 10 albums for Red House Records and Windham Hill. He even had a number of country hits and some music videos on CMT. But I don’t think of his music as country…more folk. I’ve collected almost all of his recordings after being hooked by “Land of the Bottom Line” on a recommendation of my brother-in-law. But the sound of his recordings don’t do justice to the magic of his resonant voice and his sincere approach to songs. This Collectors Edition 2-disc DVD-Audio/Video and DualDisc set brings this artist and a few of his musician friends into your home theater to perform a private concert…just for you.

This award-winning AIX Records release was recently reviewed in the oldest audiophile publication in the UK and celebrated as the “Choice of the Month”. This is a double disc DVD Collectors Edition version contains 19 songs and more extensive bonus features for true John Gorka fans. The first disc is a DualDIsc with a CD-Audio side and DVD-Audio side. The second discs is a double sided DVD-Video disc with a linear “PBS” style show and another user-directed interactive side. The two-disc set includes the following bonus features:

  • 2 – Music Videos [Houses in the Fields & Good Noise]
  • Live performance video from LA’s McCabes Guitar Shop
  • Rehearsal Video
  • Behind the Scenes Video
  • Complete Bio
  • Discography
  • Photo Gallery
  • Lyrics
  • Complete Tech Specs, Definitions, Test Tones
  • Deluxe packaging including lyrics and photo booklet

This is a must have for all fans of John Gorka…which includes me. His bandmates include standout artists such as bass virtuoso Michael Manring, NPR featured artist Susan Werner and Amelia K. Spicer. John’s college friend and fellow musician Russ Rentler [who makes his living as a doctor] joins John on mandolin for this special occasion. This disc was shot using HD video equipment but has been downconverted to standard definition for this DVD-Video title. NOTE: The DualDisc format may not be compatible with all DVD/CD drives since it is slightly thicker than a standard disc. The DualDisc is not recommended for slot drives players

Audio Samples:

  1. Branching Out –
  2. I Saw A Stranger With Your Hair –
  3. Let Them In –
  4. Mean Streak –
  5. Flying Red Horse –
  6. Snow Don’t Fall –
  7. When She Kisses Me –
  8. Mercy Of The Wheels –
  9. I’m From New Jersey –
  10. Italian Girls –
  11. Writing In The Margins –
  12. Houses In The Fields –
  13. Love Is Our Cross To Bear –
  14. Land Of The Bottom Line –
  15. Always –
  16. Road Of Good Intentions –
  17. Blue Chalk –
  18. Lightning’s Blues –
  19. The Gypsy Life –