Michael G. Williams – Works For Solo Piano


A collection of lyrical contemporary piano works by a southern California based composer/performer.

SKU: AIX 81005 Category: Tag:

Michael Glenn Williams is young composer living in southern California. AIX Records’ founder and chief engineer, Mark Waldrep has know him since they were both composition students at CSU Northrigde in the late 1970’s. In February of 2003, Michael brought Roberto Prosseda to California to perform and record this project as well as a record of Chopin works. AIX Records was fortunate enough to make his acquaintance and get the opportunity to record his amazing talent. He has won numerous international piano competitions and now travels extensively performing and lecturing.

Williams’ earliest years were spent in New York, beginning trumpet studies and composing at 8 years old. At 12 he was programming DEC PDP 8 minicomputers. He attended CSU Northridge as a dual major in composition and piano performance where he studied with Aurelio de la Vega, Danial Kessner, Frank Campo, and Francoise Regnat. He did graduate studies at the Eastman School of Music as a composition major, where he worked with Samuel Adler, Robert Morris, Warren Benson, pianist Rebecca Penneys, and briefly with Joseph Schwantner and David Burge.

Williams is performing as pianist in The Chopin Project, with the jazz group 1 40 4 20, and as a studio pianist for film and television. He premiered works written for him by Jeffery Cotton, Jeff Rona and other composers. He twice won the Northridge Chamber Music Award for performances of contemporary music.

Williams composes for solo piano, chamber ensembles, choir and solo voice. Works for orchestra include Tarantella for piano and orchestra, composed for pianist Sean Chen; Princess Concerto for piano, narrator and orchestra; and The Gates of Hell a series of tone poems based on the Rodin sculptures. Williams also composed for movies including King of the Hill, The Limey, Younger and Younger, The House of Yes, Wonderland [disambiguation needed ] and Wicker Park. He also composed cues and performed piano for the TV series Chicago Hope.

Audio Examples:

  1. Songs Without Words 1 –
  2. Songs Without Words 2 –
  3. Songs Without Words 3 –
  4. Canzicranz Dance –
  5. Berceuse –
  6. Enchanted Forest Suite: March of the Giant Bears –
  7. Enchanted Forest Suite: Enchanted Water –
  8. Enchanted Forest Suite: Moonlight Nocturne –
  9. Enchanted Forest Suite: Dance of the Wood Nymphs –
  10. Nocturne –
  11. Collage Suite: Physique –
  12. Collage Suite: The Cock and the Swan –
  13. Collage Suite: Beautiful Spanish Dancer –
  14. Collage Suite: Lullaby –
  15. Collage Suite: Romance –
  16. Collage Suite: Military Fanfare –
  17. Collage Suite: Brigades –
  18. Collage Suite: Nocturne –
  19. Selected Tone Poems: Regrets –
  20. Selected Tone Poems: Romance –