Surf City Allstars – I Get Surround


Dean Torrence was half of the legendary 60’s surf duo Jan and Dean. The Surf City Allstar Band carries on that legacy with special guest Jeff “Skunk” Baxter on guitar.

SKU: AIX 80036 Categories: , , , Tag:

Dean Torrence, vocals & guitar
Gary Griffin, vocals & keyboards
Don Raymond, vocals & guitar
Phillip Bardowell, vocals & bass
Randell Kirsch, vocals & 12-string guitar
Dave Logeman, drums
Matt Jardine, background vocals & percussion

One of the members of The Surf City Allstars is one of my oldest friends. He and I met in a musicianship class at Santa Monica College way back in the 70’s. These days he makes his living playing guitar, singing and producing musical acts for the like of Universal Studios and Rhino Records…and sometimes he works with me on AIX Records projects. His relationship with Dean Torrence and the rest of these guys seemed like the perfect opportunity to create the world’s first high-resolution 5.1 surround surf record. The legacy of Jan & Dean as well as the Beach Boys would be very different if surround sound had been the standard method of delivering audio in the 1960’s. Imagine hearing beautiful four-part harmonies coming from all directions or multiple twangy guitar parts enveloping you. This is a project full of terrific musicianship and singing. Just wait until you hear “Little Old Lady From Pasadena” in 5.1 channels!

This is a collection of surf classics and new tunes in the unique style of surf music with the Fender guitars, lots of reverb and close harmonies. From “Surf City” to the blistering solo by special guest Jeff “Skunk” Baxter from the bay area’s Doobie Brothers in Apache, the Surf City Allstar Band provides this classic sound in dull high definition sound and surround sound. Surf music has never been heard this way before.

The bonus features on this disc include:

  • History of Jan and Dean in photos
  • Discography
  • Feature on Dave Sweet, inventor of the fiberglass surf board
  • Dean Torrence’s career as a designer of album covers
  • Biographies
  • Interviews

Fans of Jan and Dean will relish the sound, the bonus materials and the tribute to a seminal figure in the history of surf music. Audiophiles will hear the close harmonies and surf guitars like they never have before.

AIX Records’ premium DVD-Audio/Video discs have two sides. The first side in an interactive DVD-Video disc and the other side is a DVD-Audio disc [which requires a DVD-Audio capable machine to play it back].

The sound of this recording brings these incredible musicians into your listening space. The HD-Audio surround mixes immerse you in the musical interplay with full range frequency response and dynamics.

Audio Examples:

  1. I’ll Surf Away –
  2. Everybodys Down At The Beach –
  3. More Today Than Yesterday –
  4. Discovery –
  5. Over The Moon –
  6. Surf City –
  7. The Big Drop –
  8. Sloop John B –
  9. California Sleepwalking –
  10. Paulding Light –
  11. Little Old Lady From Pasadena –
  12. L.A.’s Fastest –
  13. Apache –