The Dale Spalding Band – Downtown


Dale Spalding played harmonica and fronted Pancho Sanchez’s band for years. This album features Dale’s funky and soulful voice accompanied by an exceptional band.

SKU: AIX 80025 Categories: , Tag:

When not on tour with legendary band Canned Heat or Latin Jazz giant Poncho Sanchez, multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter Dale Spalding can be found leading his own band in his native California, or in Austin, Texas, where he’s now based and performs solo and with local greats such as Little Elmore Reed.

The in-demand musician has also appeared and/or recorded with Dave Alvin, James Cotton, Marcia Ball, Ruthie Foster, Papa Mali, Otis Rush, Pinetop Perkins, Amos Garrett and Redd Volkaert, among the many.

The tracks on this release have a Paul Butterfield quality at times and a quiet bluesy ballad at other times. Dale’s range of expression is quite wide and his skill on percussion and harmonica are impressive. He belts out the Louis Jordan song “Caldonia&quo and then gentle caresses “Sabor a Mi&quo in Spanish…all in high definition, surround sound.

Backed by a seasoned group of sidemen, Dale Spalding’s Downtown is among my favorite projects. I’m sure if you take a long leisurely listen, you’ll find it’s one of your as well.

AIX Records’ premium DVD-Audio/Video discs have two sides. The first side in an interactive DVD-Video disc and the other side is a DVD-Audio disc [which requires a DVD-Audio capable machine to play it back].

The sound of this recording brings these incredible musicians into your listening space. The HD-Audio surround mixes immerse you in the musical interplay with full range frequency response and dynamics.

Kenny Elliott, Bruce Malament, Lon Price, Dale Spalding and Tomas Gargano

Audio Examples

  1. At Last –
  2. Caldonia –
  3. Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Crying –
  4. Honey Hush –
  5. Killer Joe –
  6. Knock Me A Kiss –
  7. Little Red Rooster –
  8. Lost Mind –
  9. Mary Ann –
  10. Twenty Four Hours A Day –
  11. Your Mind Is On Vacation –
  12. Sabor A Mi –