The Paul Smith Trio – Self Titled


One the last recordings made by Paul Smith, this jazz trio explores standard repertoire in high-resolution and surround. Paul’s amazing technique and musical imagination are fully on display in this easy jazz recording.

SKU: AIX 80010 Category: Tag:

Paul Smith (April 17, 1922 – June 29, 2013) plays traditional and bebop jazz piano with a facility and sensitivity few can match. In this intimate high-definition, 5.1 channel surround recording with bassist Jim DeJulio and drummer Dave Tull, Smith plays standards that will envelope your listening space and bring this terrific trio of musicians home. This project was among the very first that AIX Records produced and presents a simple video presentation of this great jazz artist dressed in shorts, a Hawaiian shirt and sneakers. Paul Smith was born in San Diego, California. After playing early on with Johnny Richards in 1941 and spending a couple of years in the military, he worked with Les Paul (1946–1947) and Tommy Dorsey (1947–1949) before moving to Los Angeles and becoming a studio musician. Smith has recorded frequently both with his trios and as a soloist. In addition he is featured on work of artists such as Dizzy Gillespie, Anita O’Day, Buddy DeFranco, Louie Bellson, Steve Allen, Stan Kenton, Mel Tormé and others. In addition to recording with Dizzy Gillespie, Anita O’Day, Buddy DeFranco, Louie Bellson, Steve Allen and Stan Kenton (among others), he toured off and on during 1956-1978 as a conductor and pianist for Ella Fitzgerald. AIX Records’ premium DVD-Audio/Video have two sides. The first side in an interactive DVD-Video disc and the other side is a DVD-Audio disc [which requires a DVD-Audio capable machine to play it back]. This disc includes photos, bios and a discography. The sound of this recording brings this amazing pianist into your listening space. The HD-Audio surround mixes immerse you in the musical interplay with full range frequency response and dynamics.


  • Jim DeJulio, acoustic bass
  • Dave Tull, drums

Audio Samples:

  1. On Green Dolphin Street –
  2. Just Friends –
  3. Lullaby Of Birdland –
  4. A Nightingale Sang In Berkley Square –
  5. It Never Entered My Mind –
  6. One Note Samba –
  7. Have You Met Miss Jones –
  8. Yours Is My Heart Alone –
  9. Yardbird Suite –
  10. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top –